Author Topic: Throttle Body Synchronisation 2012 GSX650F  (Read 667 times)

Metnor

Throttle Body Synchronisation 2012 GSX650F
« on: July 04, 2016, 01:07:45 AM »
After unsuccessfully trying to eliminate the harsh throttle on/off transition on my bike with a O2 Sensor Eliminator, I followed the suggestions of others and did a synchronisation of the throttle bodies. Here is a summary of my method and results;

1) I studied the procedure I found in a 2009 service manual that I downloaded online. I believe all of these bikes are essentially the same so I believe the information to be relevant.
2) The manual gives 2 options to do this procedure, one using the Suzuki SDS tool (page 1D-16) and the other using the dealer mode select switch (1D-18). I used the dealer mode option.
3) Following instructions, I lifted the tank, disconnected the IAP hoses and connected the manometer that I made.
3) I started the engine but discovered that it would not idle with the IAP sensor disconnected.

*Deviation from service manual, at this point, I installed a vacuum "T" into the right hand outer manometer hose and re-connected the IAP sensor. After this modification, the engine idled as per usual.
 Please also note that at this stage, the service manual does not indicate which if any of the throttle bodies should be left "as is" and used as a reference for the other three. Other bikes require a specific reference and I believe it would make sense on this bike as well.